Zozie’s PUMPKIN SOUP

Here is the recipe I created this year for Pumpkin Soup, so good after all that pumpkin carving – put those insides to GOOD USE, no need to waste that yummy fruit! It’s so tasty.

Pumpkin is a member of the SQUASH family and is often thought to be a vegetable, actually it is classed as a fruit, but either way sweet or savory , it can make a delicious SOUP!  Enjoy my recipe, created in my kitchen…

If you want to see how else we celebrate HALLOWEEN- see HERE for Pumpkin Carving and HERE for special HALLOWEEN TEA EVENT...

Zozie’s Pumpkin Soup

1 Put the insides of the pumpkin, medium sized used by me, into the soup maker or pan, no seeds

helper-to-separate-the-seeds-and-flesh
I had a keen helper on separation of seeds and pumpkin flesh

2 Add 2 or 3 washed and chopped carrots – peel if prefer

3. Add 3 cloves of garlic (good for warding off vampires- ho ho)

4 3 cups (or third of a large jar for me), of tomato passata,

5 A tbsp of milled flax seed gives a great addition.

6 A sprinkle of chili flakes gives a peppery taste but makes it in no way spicy in my humble opinion.

7 An addition of 2tsp of turmeric, adds to the soups many health giving properties.

8 Add water to fill level of soup maker or to pan as required.

9 Cook  till cooked thorough, 21 minutes in my soup maker but a little longer on stove top I would guess…

10 When Cool, blend and re-heat to ENJOY. (unless soup maker has blended it for you, hurrah)

It makes enough for 4 large bowls for us, I save some for round two – oh and it’s gorgeous with a squeeze of lemon juice

soup-16
So delicious, Zozie’s Pumpkin Soup

It’s SUCH a tasty soup, so full of goodness, and filling, great for warming you on the colder days too… Can be taken to work if required, To the park, To a relative, Eaten with a big crusty bread roll for lunch, or you could add croutons, What about a big bowlful before bedtime with toast to dunk? Got any butter in? So many ways to enjoy this guilt free hearty treat. Boost your health and your comfort levels in one fell swoop.

This soup is just full of natures goodness. More soup recipes to come in time, it’s one of my favorite things to create.

Eat and Enjoy

ZOZIE

 

 

15 thoughts on “Zozie’s PUMPKIN SOUP”

      1. Well I am sure it would freeze beautifully. .I have frozen lots of my home made soups. .it will keep in the fridge for a good few days too so you could have it Monday to Thursday or something😊

        Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great – and it’s really the tastiest way when i make soup myself I find. Just yesterday I made a yummy broccoli and pea soup. So glad some is left for today! I love soup all year round.

      Like

Leave a Reply

